end of summer

I have never been more ready for this! The whole summer has been great (in other words, really, truly, lit) because I got to spend more time with my friends this year. Past summers were half spent in foreign places with different time zones, which itself was also a thrill. … I guess this is just a new feeling, for me. Staying in my home country has never been more fun.

A quick recount:
– there was a week spent in Thailand, the only real vacation filled with (occassional) sunshine and lots of swimming
– three weeks in Hong Kong, of lazing around and attempting to do homework
– then a short trip to Singapore, meeting up with friends I haven’t seen in a good year
– back in Hong Kong, the fourth and final leg of summer where work becomes increasingly intense and there’s a gradual increase in the number of (impromptu) study sessions

Again, I have never been more ready to go back to school. It’ll be the last first day at this school, the last year spent with this group of friends, the last year of IB. This year is the first time that the ‘new year, new me’ mentality seems to be really kicking in, and without me actively pushing for it either. Seeing my friends really focus on their future, picking out their dream universities and working hard for it made me jump on that hype train as well. It’s time to take my future more seriously and focus on really enjoying what I’m studying, as well as work on self development and being the most ‘me’ possible. I’m really looking forward to spending more time with friends and finally taking a break from pursuing potential relationships. If it’s going to happen, it will. No use forcing it. :-)

And that’s a wrap-up from me! Here’s to a great academic year of 16/17; we can do this! (๑و•̀ω•́)و

Leave a Reply

