Korea in Words

I saw two people using sign language to converse yesterday. It was heartwarming to see – two people in their own world, in the midst of the chattering crowd.

Another update: for those of you who love anime and being poetic and deep, I recommend Hanasaku Iroha. I’m in at four episodes; the first episode was brimming with poetic language and the second episode managed to move me to tears. It’s been wonderful so far.

Here’s the long awaited post on Korea!

We went mainly for skiing at Yong Pyong. Sliding down snow-covered inclined slopes on two boards isn’t much to talk about. The process itself, I mean. The sensation is pretty nice. Not to mention Korean food. Wow.

We saw so much snow. It’s not ‘indescribable’ per say, but it’s hard to make it sound different from clichéd storybook versions. It’s white fluff drifting from the skies, from as far as the eye can see. It’s like being trapped in a snow globe, in this perfect world where poverty and cancer doesn’t exist. That’s how magical snow is.

I didn’t have many slip-ups while skiing (not this time, at least!). Snowy weather is not nice to ski in. Icy fluff keeps getting around your mouth area, and even if you have those ski masks, the snow melts from the great of your breath and makes it all wet and slimy. Double gross.

Otherwise, skiing is fun! I’m not the type to go really fast and lose control. I literally stay in my lane and do what is in my ability. The last thing I’d want is to fall over (epically), jab my skis into the snow and sprain something.

On the first night, there was a sauna-water park experience. Despite the freezing cold outside, there were HEATERS and MODERATELY WARM WATER. And WATER SLIDES. There were jacuzzis that bubbled on your head, soles of your feet, shoulders… It was an amazing discovery.

There was also a huge bath where everyone (of the same gender) walked and soaked in tubs naked. Well. I was pretty uncomfortable at first but I got used to it. Besides, the water made me feel somewhat clothed, if that makes sense.

The “malls” had diverse food. Takoyaki! Pizza! CHURROS! Not to mention never-before-seen air blowers that blew snow off your skis and snowboards. I had so much fun.

We left Yong Pyong three days later and were on our way to Seoul. Stayed somewhere overnight. It was pretty old with windows IN the room. There was another sauna-water park thing. Again, naked people. This water park had a slide where only children were supposed to go (so I wasn’t allowed.)

The last day, we finally arrived at Seoul and went to buy Korea-famous products: ginseng, seaweed and cosmetics. I got eye masks for my eyebags. And eyeliner which was super hard to open but easy to use. Since it was the first day of the lunar year, not many shops were open, which was tragic. I was really looking forward to going to the post office.

However, the market was still open, and that was amazing. A whole square (maybe?) of streets which was pretty repetitive, but enjoyable to walk around nonetheless. By ‘repetitive’ I mean there were cosmetic stores every few meters, and restaurants around every turn of the street. I managed to find a really cute hair tie for my friend, and ate a lot of good street food! :) Like the SUPER TALL ICE CREAM and EGG FILLED MUFFIN. My taste buds were ecstatic that day.

I guess the highlight of the trip would be (not skiing, to my surprise) staying at the second hotel. Although it was for one night, the water park and bath were good and relaxing for a long, cold Korea day. The comparatively old style of the rooms were interesting and thick with culture. (Is that how to describe it?) I live for that. And that’s the place with all the really cool Gachapon (capsule toy) machines! :)

That’s it, folks! Thanks for reading my (journal entry) recount of Korea. Pictures are on the previous post.

One thought on “Korea in Words

Leave a Reply

