Perspectives

Maybe it’s a coping mechanism. Maybe it’s an acquired skill.
Selective hearing– you’ve probably heard of that. Basically your ear filters the words going in, and chucks the stuff that you don’t want.
It’s the same with our perception. We see the things we want to – stuff that our brain subconsciously dubs as necessary, or deems helpful to your current state. I mean, we all see the same scene, but we focus on different things.
Take my super cluttered room for example. While looking at the mess on my desk, someone would probably comment on how I have a slip of paper jutting at an angle out of my biology textbook, as if I shoved it there in a hurry. Someone else would look at the random stuff on my floor and point out how I was probably super distracted because I seemed to fly from one thing to another. My mom would probably take the whole room in and shout at me for being so disorganised.
So we see the stuff that we think will be beneficial to us. If a cancer patient was told “We have found a cure, but there’s only a 60% chance it’ll work on you.” they’d probably focus on the “we have found a cure”, whereas the parents, so used to disappointment, will focus on the “60% chance” instead.
Maybe that helps us cope with life. Our brain filters stuff that we need to hear, so that we won’t encounter stuff that will punch us into the wallowing pits of hell and lamenting. Our brain also nitpicks on facts so that we see the strands that we want to see. For example, distorting the truth slightly so that it’ll bend to your liking.
Here we have me, fresh out of a second-time relationship (I know, what was I thinking?!) and looking at the odd clover growing from the cracks of concrete. I could be thinking, “Omg!! Three leafs!!! You know what people say, third time lucky!!” Or, if I was more level-headed and feeling a little like bullshitting (similar to literature essays) “Ah, yes. The clover is breaking free of its concrete jail. That must symbolise me, staying strong and breaking out of the relationship that once held me captive. I must look towards the Sun, the light in my life, and focus on the positives, leaning away from the grey negatives, like the pavement.”
So, yeah. I guess that’s how our brains work.

2 thoughts on “Perspectives

Leave a Reply

