The Story of How We Met

coffee

We met in a coffee shop, when I first drew a small heart on his receipt, and winked as I passed him his cappuccino. He took his time sipping, waiting for me to end my shift. Just as I was about to leave, he caught me, and bought me a drink.

We talked, exchanging personal details. We smiled, intrigued by each other’s words. We laughed, drunk off many cups of coffee.

The days after that, he’d stop by, sometimes just popping in and giving me sweets, sometimes waiting for me to finish and other times, just to stare at me for five minutes from a table. At night, we’d either be out on a date – Once, we went to a fancy, formal dinner. Another time, we pigged out at McDonalds. – or talking to each other online.

In short, we met frequently, until he finally asked me to be his girlfriend.

That’s how he thinks we met.

The truth is, there is no possible way that two people can meet and fall in love so smoothly and effortlessly. Heck, it might not even be love. (Although, our four years and ongoing of a relationship do beg to differ.)

Maybe there’s a one in a million chance that that happens, but we certainly didn’t experience that. I know for a fact that we didn’t meet like that. Technically, the story starts when he started coming into the shop and buying afternoon coffee. But really, it starts officially when I finally notice him.

Sometimes I heard him talking to my best friend at the shop – more like, sometimes I eavesdrop. But anyway – they seemed to have struck up some sort of friendship made of borderline-crude jokes, and of sports and hot girl talk. So he’s funny, hot, and straight. No way.

Naturally I became ten times more interested in this stranger, so I asked my coworker for the guy’s info, and started… doing research on him. Yeah. I have to admit, the next part was kind of a miracle ­– he was single, and liked practically everything I did as well.

I spent the next few days perfecting my wink and drawing cute hearts, which prepped me up for the day we “met”. And you know the rest from there.

Ladies and gentlemen, that is the true story of how we met. No fairytales, no magic, no love at first sight. Just a girl, a boy, and a blossoming love.

Leave a Reply

